为什么在新冠肺炎疫情之后,我们需将目光投向东方重振我们低迷的商业街

ST 181031 N66 hd

联系方式 Simon Bee, 董事总经理 - 环球设计
simon.bee@benoy.com

在整个亚洲,优质的零售概念往往是机具创意的;深度融合了实用性和体验性,由此吸引成千上万的访客。

随着零售行业有望在新冠肺炎疫情之后复苏,以及零售商们对实体购物的未来展望,亚洲的体验式综合体模式或许可以提供答案。

设计思维
Jewel 1 banner

在我担任贝诺设计总监期间,我有六年的时间一直在为亚洲各地的标志性的商业目的地工作。正如我亲身观察所见,远东和欧洲零售业之间的差异实在显而易见。

百货商场的时代已结束?商业街已失去生机?去看看曼谷的暹罗探索购物中心,或是韩国的 Starfield Hanam,启发我,百货商场的时代真的结束了吗? 去看看中国杭州大悦城,告诉我,商业街真的已经失去生机了吗?

真正失去生机的是单一文化的西方零售模式。陈旧单一的购物中心,千篇一律的商店门面。毫无疑问,这些形式如今风光已过。但这并不意味着零售业时代已结束;至少在西方,这只是因为缺乏勇气和想象力而造成的结果。

通过体验感带动客流

在亚洲零售中,体验至上。例如,Starfield Hanam 拥有汽车创新中心和数字体育设施。屋顶设有一个 25,000 平方米的水疗中心。这些都不是您在常规购物中心能找到的。新加坡的福南购物中心设有攀岩墙、自行车道、演讲厅、健身房和屋顶城市农场。新加坡樟宜机场中心的超凡商业开发项目星耀樟宜,是贝诺领导的商业规划项目,其特点是拥有一片生机盎然的瀑布和雨林(见上图)。

重要的是,这种大胆的用途、空间和体验组合不仅仅能彰显美学。它还能推动客流和销售。以星耀樟宜为例,在其 280 个零售点中,几乎每一个都被顶级国际品牌和个性的本地独立品牌所占据。而其第一年 4,000 万访客人次的目标在不到六个月的时间便已实现。在整个亚洲,在非新冠肺炎疫情时期,零售目的地经常爆满。

逻辑很简单。建筑瑰丽宏伟、与众不同,人们自会前来。优质的场所营造有助于改善体验,从而增加停留时间和消费。实际上,研究表明,停留时间每增加 1%,销售额就会提高 1.3%。这是双赢局面,是设计美学、旅客体验和商业运营的理想融合。这可能是后疫情时代零售业复苏的关键所在。

重新规划用途和文化相关性

新冠肺炎疫情已导致在线购物和实体购物之间的平衡发生巨大转变。由于英国传统购物中心有着很多剩空间,现在有机会重新规划剩零售空间的用途。社区功能、食品演示、卫生设施。住宅、工作区和娱乐区的组合。我们需要探索这些新的周边环境,并自信地充分利用它们,让公众重新走近实体店,感受店内零售氛围。

最重要的是,我们需要将商业街或百货店与更广泛的城市和文化背景重新联系起来。对我而言,这种方法是取得长期成功的关键。这一点的全球典范是曼谷的暹罗天地。暹罗天地是一处综合体开发项目,联合亚洲最大的购物商场之一,其相关性高,充满活力,不同凡响。受泰国文化历史背景渲染,它不仅可以让人们感受过去的历史,而且还能推动当前的消费。

亚洲零售理念追求个性鲜明、瑰丽宏伟、体验丰富和多元多样。现在是更多西方开发商效仿的时候了。

Why we need to look east to reenergise our struggling high streets in the wake of Covid-19

ST 181031 N66 hd

Contact Simon Bee, 董事总经理 - 环球设计
simon.bee@benoy.com

Across Asia, the best retail concepts involve a riot of creativity; a rich mix of uses and experience that attracts visitors in their thousands.

As the retail sector looks to recover post-COVID, and as retailers contemplate the future of in-store shopping, experiential mixed-use models from Asia could provide the answer.

Return to Design Thinking
Jewel 1 banner

In my work as Design Director at Benoy, I’ve spent the past six years working on iconic retail destinations across Asia. And as I’ve seen up close, the difference between retail in the Far East and Europe couldn’t be more stark.

The end of the department store? The death of the high street? Go to Siam Discovery in Bangkok, or Starfield Hanam in South Korea, and tell me the department store is finished. Go to Joy City Hangzhou, China, and tell me the high street is dead.

What’s dead is the mono-cultural Western retail model. The tired and one-dimensional shopping centre, the homogenous row of shop fronts. These formats, certainly, have had their day. But that doesn’t mean retail is over; it’s just suffering, in the West at least, from a lack of bravery and imagination.

Driving footfall through experience

In Asian retail, experience is everything. Starfield Hanam, for example, boasts car innovation centres and digital sports facilities. It has a 25,000 m² spa on the roof. These aren’t things you’d expect to find in a regular shopping mall. Funan Mall in Singapore has climbing walls, cycle routes, lecture theatres, fitness rooms and a rooftop urban farm. And the extraordinary retail development at the heart of Singapore Changi Airport, the Jewel, where Benoy led retail planning, features a live waterfall and rainforest (seen above).

Crucially, this bold mix of uses, spaces and experiences isn’t just about aesthetics. It also drives footfall and sales. At Jewel, for example, virtually every one of its 280 retail locations is occupied by top international brands and cool local independents. And its target of 40 million visitors in the first year was surpassed in under six months. Across Asia, in non-COVID times, retail destinations are full to bursting on a regular basis.

The logic is simple. Build it beautiful, build it different, and people will come. Good placemaking leads to improved experience, which leads to increased dwell time and spend. Indeed, studies show that a 1% uplift in dwell time boosts sales by 1.3%. It’s a win-win situation; the perfect marriage of aesthetics, experience and commerce. And it could hold the key to post-pandemic retail recovery.

Repurposing and cultural relevance

COVID-19 has led to a game-changing shift in the balance between online and physical shopping. With spare capacity in traditional UK malls, there’s now an opportunity to repurpose redundant retail space. Community functions, food demos, health facilities. Combinations of residential, workspace and entertainment. We need to explore these new adjacencies and uses confidently to re-engage the general public with in-store retail environments.

Above all, we need to reconnect the high street or department store to its wider city and cultural context. This approach, for me, is the key to long-term success. The global exemplar here is Icon Siam in Bangkok. Relevant, dynamic, phenomenal, Icon Siam is a mixed-use development incorporating one of the largest shopping malls in Asia. Steeped in the cultural history of Thailand, its engages people with the past while driving consumer spend in the present.

Asian retail is thinking bold, beautiful, experiential and diverse. It’s high time more Western developers did the same.