印度不断变化的零售行业格局

26 Mike Wilson Mac Cormack

联系方式 Mike MacCormack
mike.wilson-maccormack@benoy.com

在印度,日渐富裕的生活水平、颇具潜力的城市化进程以及快速增长的年轻人口,都在重塑消费者期望和零售趋势。在本文中,我们纽瓦克工作室的负责人Mike MacCormack阐释了贝诺是如何应对当下这种趋势的。

设计思维
11573 hd v2

你如何看待印度的商业零售布局?

印度的零售行业是传统经营业态和零售环境的有趣组合,比如有市场和独立商店,也有更现代、规划有序的商业街和零售中心集群。近年来,后者的发展势头良好,比重逐渐增大,预计到2021年,将占印度零售总额的20%左右,较之2016/2017年的10%会有大幅提升。由此可见,人们对那些“经过精心设计的”商业零售业态和体验的需求越来越大,比如集购物、餐饮和娱乐于一体的零售村。虽然传统零售仍会在印度消费文化中继续扮演重要角色,但“有组织的零售”增长潜力巨大。

“ 约50%的印度人口的年龄在25岁以下。到2022年,印度人口的中值年龄只有28岁,相比之下,中国和美国是37岁,西欧则是45岁。”

4382 N3 medium

你觉得导致这种变化的原因是什么?

主要驱动因素是人口结构的改变和城市化。如今的印度是年轻人口和中产阶级人口不断扩大的国家。约50%的印度人口的年龄在25岁以下。到2022年,印度人口的中值年龄将只有28岁,相比之下,中国和美国是37岁,西欧则是45岁。

这些年轻消费者拥有良好的教育背景和专业技术,可支配收入也在不断增加。他们之中不乏大量从小城市和偏远地区投身到印度那些快速发展城市的职业人士和大学生。他们欣赏国际品牌,偏好购物中心和更有组织的零售业态,继而也推动了时尚和餐饮的销售增长。

印度的家庭结构也发生了变化,核心家庭现在占印度家庭总数的70%,而这种小家庭的开支往往比大家庭要高出20-30%。因此,我们观察到了更多的财富流动和消费意向。与此同时,空气污染及其他环境问题也促使人们探索更环保、更可持续的零售选择。众多因素的独特组合,加速了零售偏好和消费者行为的转变。

“ 印度次大陆的实体零售依然势头强劲。尽管印度的网络用户数日益增长,但在2018年,印度只有25%的互联网用户选择线上购物,所以印度人更喜欢的购物方式仍然是实体店购物。”

线上零售不是会限制实体店购物的吸引力吗?

不,并不会。印度次大陆的实体零售依然势头强劲。尽管印度的网络用户数日益增长,但在2018年,印度只有25%的互联网用户选择线上购物,所以印度人更喜欢的购物方式仍然是实体店购物。

同样值得注意的是,印度的年轻消费者是千禧一代和Z世代—数字原住民,已充分领略过虚拟世界的他们越来越享受在现实生活中见面的机会,让自己沉浸在真实的体验之中,尤为重视人与人之间的相聚互动和社区空间。虽然面对新冠肺炎疫情下的世界形势,当下人们也调整一些原有的习惯,但大体上印度民众非常注重切身的互动。购物中心和丰富多样的店铺设计带来的公共体验对他们是极具吸引力的。

“ 我们并不是在建立传统或单一文化的商业零售体,而是在打造灵活的综合体建筑,在满足人们生活其他方面的需求的同时,也为营造出色的公共空间奠定基础。”

05237 N20 medium

贝诺将如何应对新的趋势和期望?

我们一如既往地从评估终端用户的需求和愿望处着手,分析驱动因素和各方原因以了解它们为何会造就当前的趋势和人们的选择。因为深入理解文化差异和人群偏好至关重要。

而在这方面,我们在印度住宅领域的经验则帮助我们及时把握了零售变化的态势。住宅领域经常会提到“智能致密化”,即在人口过剩的城市创造性地利用空间。我们发现,随着越来越多的人选择入住城市黄金地段的小公寓,印度的居住空间正在缩小。因此,在商业零售领域,我们希望提供共享空间、便利和互联的机会,从而为人们呈现可能在家中享受不到的空间和体验。

我们并不是在建立传统或单一文化的商业零售体,而是在打造灵活的综合体建筑,在满足人们生活其他方面的需求的同时,也为营造出色的公共空间奠定基础。事实上,综合体才是关键所在;在稠密的城市环境中,集住宅、零售、办公空间和配套便利设施于一体的综合开发项目就为现代城市生活提供了绝佳的解决方案。

例如,在艾哈迈达巴德,我们打造了一座融合了高端住宅、商业零售和企业办公空间的一流综合体场所,运用露石混凝土建材致敬当地传统和手工艺。与此同时,我们位于诺伊达的Supernova项目将绿色生活和奢华的现代化便利设施进行整合,旨在打造印度北部最高的综合体开发项目。此外,我们还为新德里打造了集电影院、零售和住宅于一体的The Chanakya,为首都提供最豪华、最具活力的购物中心体验,这体现了我们致力于用独具特色的设施和体验取悦消费者,并且可以最大限度地为我们的客户创造价值。

是什么使贝诺在印度市场脱颖而出?

我们的国际视野和经验是我们立足印度的要素。印度客户和开发商们的阅历广泛,拥有全球视野。他们热衷于将全球最佳的实践经验和成功的发展模式因地制宜地引入印度市场。因此,他们常常对贝诺着眼未来的调研方法和接轨国际的设计感到兴奋不已。

我们在亚太和欧洲地区的作品凸显价值,特别是那些融合了外部空间和景观的项目。面向内部的建筑形式在印度不胜枚举,所以我们作品中结合到户外环境的项目,比如迪拜的the Beach和City Walk项目尤为受客户偏爱。此外,我们以聚焦本土文化为设计灵感的曼谷的ICONSIAM项目也比较类似;新加坡的ION Orchard也功不可没,这些都是我们高客流、紧凑型综合体建筑的典范。

作为一家国际化的设计咨询公司,我们具备在印度独一无二的体验式场所设计经验。我们跳脱出只有单一功能的思维模式,运用不同设计方式构建集多种功能于一体的建筑场所来不断促进当地社区的发展。我们希望通过这种方式,在这个年轻而快速发展的零售市场中打造标志性的目的地,继续丰富人们的生活,创造价值,塑造出可持续的城市环境。

4382 N3 medium
05237 N20 medium

The changing shape of retail in India

26 Mike Wilson Mac Cormack

Contact Mike MacCormack
mike.wilson-maccormack@benoy.com

In India, rising affluence, urbanisation and a young, fast-growing population are reshaping consumer expectations and retail trends. Here, Mike MacCormack, Head of our Newark Studio, explains how Benoy is responding.

Return to Design Thinking
11573 hd v2

How would you define the retail landscape in India?

Retail in India is an interesting mix of traditional outlets and environments, such as markets, independent shops and stores, and more modern, curated highstreets and clustered retail hubs. In recent years there’s been a shift towards the latter, which is expected to account for around 20% of all retail in India by 2021, a dramatic increase from just 10% in 201617. What we’re seeing is a growing appetite for designed’ formats and experiences, such as retail villages which combine shopping, dining and entertainment. And while traditional retail will continue to play a major role in Indian consumer culture, the growth potential for what’s known as organised retail’ is huge. 

'Around 50% of India’s population is under 25. By 2022, the median age of people in India will be just 28, compared to 37 in China and the US, and 45 in western Europe.'

4382 N3 medium

What’s driving the changes you’re seeing?

Demographics and urbanisation are the main drivers. India today is home to a young, fast-growing population and an expanding middle class. Around 50% of India’s population is under 25. By 2022, the median age of people in India will be just 28, compared to 37 in China and the US, and 45 in western Europe. 

These young consumers are well educated and tech-savvy, with increasing disposable income. They’re professionals and university graduates, drawn from smaller towns and rural communities to India’s rapidly growing cities. Embracing international brands, they tend to favour shopping malls and more organised retail formats, which is driving sales in fashion, food and beverage. 

Indian family structures have also changed, with nuclear families now accounting for 70% of all Indian households. And nuclear families tend to spend around 20 – 30% more than extended families. So, we’re seeing more affluence and inclination to spend. Meanwhile, air pollution and other environmental issues are causing people to look for greener, more sustainable retail options. It’s a unique combination of factors, accelerating the shift in retail preference and consumer behaviour.

'Bricks-and-mortar retail is still strong on the subcontinent. Even with increasing digital access, only 25% of internet users in India made an online purchase in 2018, so the preferred method of shopping is still very much in-store.'

Isn’t online retail restricting the appeal of in-store shopping?

No, not really. Bricks-and-mortar retail is still strong on the subcontinent. Even with increasing digital access, only 25% of internet users in India made an online purchase in 2018, so the preferred method of shopping is still very much in-store. 

It’s also worth remembering that India’s young consumers are Millennials and Gen Zs – digital natives who increasingly relish the opportunity to meet in physical spaces and immerse themselves in real experiences. The importance of togetherness and community space cannot be overstated. Obviously, people are having to adjust their habits at present, with COVID-19 and everything that’s going on in the world, but generally in India physical interaction is key. And the communal experience provided by malls and flexible store designs is hugely attractive. 

'We’re not creating conventional or monocultural retail structures. We’re creating flexible, mixed-use buildings that overlap with people’s requirements in other areas of life, which in turn lays the foundations for great public realm.'

05237 N20 medium

As a firm of designers, how are you responding these new trends and expectations?

We start, as always, by assessing the needs and wishes of the end-user; by looking at the drivers and reasons-why that are shaping present trends and choices. Because understanding cultural nuances and generational preferences is critical. 

In this respect, our work in India’s residential sector has helped to shape our response to retail. In residential, we often refer to smart densification’, which is all about the creative use of space in overpopulated cities. We know that living space in India is reducing in size as people opt for smaller apartments in prime city locations. So, in retail we look to provide opportunities for shared space, for convenience and connectivity – providing the spaces and experiences people might be missing in their homes. 

We’re not creating conventional or monocultural retail structures. We’re creating flexible, mixed-use buildings that overlap with people’s requirements in other areas of life, which in turn lays the foundations for great public realm. In fact, mixed-use is the key; in dense city environments, integrated developments that blend residential, retail, office space and amenities provide an excellent solution for modern urban living.

In Ahmedabad, for example, we’ve created a premier mixed-use destination merging high-end residential with retail and corporate, using exposed concrete as a nod to local traditions and craftsmanship. Meanwhile in Noida, our Supernova project will blend green living with luxury modern conveniences to create North India’s tallest mixed-use development. And in New Delhi, we’ve integrated cinema, retail and residential to create the capital’s most luxurious and dynamic mall experiences – The Chanakya, which embodies our efforts to delight consumers with totally unique facilities and experiences, while maximising value for our clients. 

You’ve been working with Indian clients now for a number of years, what would you say drives that interest?

Our international exposure and experience is a real asset in India. Indian clients and developers are very well travelled. They have a global outlook. And they’re keen to tailor international best practice and successful development models to the Indian market. For this reason, they’re often excited by our future-focused research and international approach. 

Our work in Asia-Pacific and Europe is particularly relevant, especially where we’ve embraced external space and landscape. There are a lot of internally facing formats in India, so projects from our portfolio that leverage outdoor environments – such as the Beach and City Walk in Dubai – are really popular with our clients. Our work on ICONSIAM in Bangkok, with its local focus and cultural design cues, is also very relevant, as is ION Orchard in Singapore, which is an exemplar in managing a tight, mixed-use site, while integrating high transit footfall. 

As international design consultants, we offer an experiential placemaking capability that’s unique in India. We think beyond single sectors to provide a whole programme of uses, with different ways of bringing these uses – and, in the process, communities – together. In this way, we aim to create iconic destinations that will continue to enrich people’s lives, create value, and shape sustainable urban environments in this young and fast-evolving retail market.