新冠肺炎疫情期间,何为有效的零售领导力?

Simon Foster head shot

联系方式 Simon Forster, Strategic advisor to Benoy Board

在面临全球危机的当下,强大的领导力对商业零售业而言至关重要,这一点与政界相通。对此,塞尔福里奇百货公司前常务董事、贝诺零售顾问Simon Forster就零售商应如何应对当前形势并为未来做好准备发表看法。

设计思维
Clothes rail

4月14日(星期二),英国零售商Next重新开放了网站,这也是网站关闭近三周后的首度开放。此前,公司因担心仓库员工在新冠肺炎疫情期间的安全问题而关闭电商。但不到两小时,遵循公司新出台的严格的仓库运营要求,网站在达到每日订单上限后便再度关闭。

在新冠肺炎爆发之前,如此举措会被认为是不合商业逻辑又不合常理的。但面对当下的零售业,一切都变了,就像大多数其他行业和生活领域一样。盈利不再是唯一核心,重要的是行正确之事。任何认为一切如旧而不作改变的零售商都很难得偿所愿。因为未来自会对零售商今日的决策和行动作出评判。

在这个层面上,当前的危机为我们提供了一个重新审视的机会——什么才是重要的?如何重新评估人们的价值?NHS、超市和服务业交出了出色的答卷。在这场危机中,我们需要富有同情心和自信心,能够坚定站在公众视野中的领导人,零售业领导者也担负相同的期望。

是改革,而非改进

包括Next在内的各大品牌,都以公开透明的方式积极应对健康与安全问题,树立了很好的榜样。当然还有食品零售商,24小时无休营业,为顾客提供生活支持,向弱势群体提供食物。不过这些举措在新冠疫情之后还要继续保持。

事实上,很明显,现在已到了零售商不得不审慎思考的时刻,他们不仅要考虑如何在未来吸引顾客和员工,还要考虑如何保护他们,保障他们的安全。他们需要在确保人身健康安全,风险管控有力的基础上重新设定商业模式,重新配置零售环境。零售业不能慢慢去适应新的现实,而是需要一场变革,一次彻底的重启。

尤其关键的是要重新思考实体零售的空间布局,因为保持社交距离可能会在未来一段时间内影响店铺的室内设计。为防止购物交易过程促进病毒传播,我们需要在店铺布局、空间构造和路标设计方面加以改进,以减少客户瓶颈和接触。同时要在技术和自动化方面不断创新,以改善人员流动并控制表面接触点。

在这场危机中,我们需要富有同情心和自信心,能够坚定站在公众视野中的领导人,零售业领导者也担负相同的期望。

需要的是创意而非库存

零售空间也需要从根本上进行重新设计。过去,我们的商业街注重用库存来填充空间,这导致了效率低下、浪费和不必要的成本支出。

但其实我们根本不需要那么大的空间来卖东西。我们应当将零售空间,尤其是商业街的零售空间,视作一种社会空间和文化空间,加以重新构思,进一步强化以体验为导向、以人为本的主旨,从而推动后新冠时代的顾客融入。数字零售会满足人们的购买欲望,但我们需要从零售商那里看到的是能够带动销售的店内创意,而不是一堆库存s[JC1] .

而且,对任何商业零售企业而言,库存永远是最高的现金需求。因此,减少库存也有助于改善现金流管理。随着经济衰退威胁的日益迫近,现金管理是零售业领导者需要考虑的另一大要素。零售企业可以将店内的多余空间变现,通过精简运营模式,轻装上阵,重新启程,逐步减轻危机所造成的长期经济影响。同样,更专注且灵活的运营方式可以帮助零售商不再依赖于传统模式的圣诞节消费高峰和第四季度回报,实现对现金流更可持续的管理。

[JC1]是否需要说明一下我们这里讨论的是非食品零售商?对超市来说库存显然是主要关注点,这一点是否足够清楚?

新冠肺炎疫情前后的零售业

多年来,零售业一直苦苦追求可持续的商业模式。最大的挑战始终是想象我们所知的世界一旦经历灾难性的变化,零售业应该如何应对。而现在,害怕的事情真的发生了。因此,零售业领导者需要确保他们的运营模式是真正可持续的,否则其品牌与消费者的联系便会绷断,而后者的认知已经永远地改变了。

随着我们从封闭状态和疫情下的常态化生活中逐步恢复,顾客希望看到零售品牌展示出致力于保护地球的真正决心,更积极地对可持续性目标、节能措施、环境目标和社区行动做出更多贡献。

这是民心所向。一些大品牌已经因为不公正的裁员或其他只顾自身利益的行为而受到公众的指责,甚至是有关部门的惩戒。品牌需要表明他们在疫情危机中强化的社会责任感,零售业领导者则应当展现持久的远见和决心。零售商的态度及行动将很快决定它们是属于“疫情前”还是“疫情前后”的梯队,而哪一者才能够迎合新消费者的期望和喜好,结果已经是不言自明了。

从全球到本地

零售商还需要重新布局业务的规模和重点。近年来,那些得以蓬勃发展的零售品牌都利用了全球化带来的优势——无论是通过跨境出口,还是利用快速增长和高支出的旅游热潮。

而中国作为一个消费大国的崛起更是对这一增长起到了决定性的作用,尤其是在奢侈品行业。2018年,中国游客的海外消费达2,770亿美元(远超2000年的100亿美元),几乎是同年美国游客消费总额的两倍。[1]

而在英国,中国游客的数量在2010年至2019年间翻了两番。

但在后新冠时代,旅游业的繁荣很可能会破灭。旅游消费很可能集中在国内,而非国外,这将迫使零售商重新考虑战略布局。全球化确实推动了增长,但也带来了问题,因此,我们或许需要更多本地化的、与当地相关的品牌和服务。基于本地化和可持续发展的思路,重新构思零售空间、多方关系和发展环境,是企业做好准备应对未来零售前景的开端。

[1] UNTWO figures

What does effective retail leadership look like during the coronavirus crisis?

Simon Foster head shot

Contact Simon Forster, Strategic advisor to Benoy Board

In retail, as in politics, strong leadership is critical at this time of global crisis. Here, Simon Forster, former Managing Director of Selfridges and retail adviser to Benoy, considers how retailers can respond and prepare for the future.

Return to Design Thinking
Clothes rail

On Tuesday April 14, UK retailer Next reopened its website for the first time in almost three weeks following concerns about warehouse staff safety during the coronavirus crisis. But less than two hours later, the website shut once more after meeting its daily order limit, in line with new company strictures around warehouse operations. 

Pre-COVID-19, such measures would be deemed commercially illogical and unsound. But in retail, as in most other industries and areas of life, everything has changed. It’s not just about doing the commercial thing anymore, it’s about doing the right thing. Any retailer who thinks they can just carry on, business as usual, is going to struggle. Because our retailers will be judged tomorrow on the decisions and actions they take today. 

In this respect, the present situation provides an opportunity to rethink what’s important, to reassess what people value. The way the NHS, the supermarkets and the service industries have responded has been incredible. In the midst of this crisis, we need our leaders to be visible, empathic and confident – and that goes for our retail leaders as well.

Revolution not evolution

Those brands, such as Next, that are visibly addressing health and safety issues, have set a great example. As of course have the food retailers, working 247 to support their customers and reach the vulnerable. But such efforts will need to continue post-pandemic. 

Indeed, it’s clear that retailers are going to have to think carefully, not only about how they engage people in the future, but how they protect them, how they keep their staff and customers safe. They will need to reset business models and reconfigure retail environments in a way that promotes wellbeing and preparedness. Retail can’t just evolve into this new reality, it needs a revolution, a total reboot.

In particular, a rethinking of physical retail space will be critical, with social distancing likely to influence interior store design for some time to come. To ensure transaction doesn’t facilitate transmission, we need to drive enhancements in store layout, placemaking and wayfinding to reduce customer bottlenecks and contact. And we need continued innovation in technology and automation to improve the flow of people and limit surface touchpoints. 

In the midst of this crisis, we need our leaders to be visible, empathic and confident – and that goes for our retail leaders as well.

Invention, not inventory

Retail space also needs to be fundamentally reimagined. Historically, our high streets have focused on filling space with stock, which has led to inefficiency, waste, and unnecessary cost. 

We simply don’t need all that space to sell stuff. Retail space, particularly on the high street, needs to be reimagined as social space, as cultural space – more experience-oriented, more people-focused, to drive customer engagement in the post-COVID landscape. Digital retail will satisfy the desire to purchase, but in-store it’s invention, not inventory, that we’ll need to see from retailers.

Furthermore, inventory is always the highest cash requirement for any retail business. So reducing inventory could also help to improve cash management, which, with the threat of recession looming, is another vital consideration for retail leaders. By operating with less, in a narrower, more streamlined way, retail businesses can begin to revitalise and monetise surplus space in-store, and begin to mitigate the long-term economic impact of the crisis. Similarly, by moving away from the traditional model of Christmas peaks and fourth-quarter returns, a more focused and flexible approach could help retailers manage cash flow more sustainably. 

Pre and post-pandemic retail

For many years, retail has struggled to embrace sustainable business models. The biggest challenge has always been to imagine the world as we know it undergoing catastrophic change. And now it has happened. Retail leaders therefore need to ensure their operations become truly sustainable, or else their brands will lose relevance to consumers whose perspectives have changed forever. 

As we emerge from lockdown and normal’ life resumes, customers will want to see retail brands demonstrate genuine commitment to looking after the planet. Greater levels of engagement with sustainability goals, efficiency measures, environmental targets and community initiatives will be essential. 

Because the general mood is clear. We’ve seen major brands being met with public censure over unfair furloughing of staff, or being chastised for self-interest. Brands will need to show that they’ve learned from this, and retail leaders will need to show sustained vision and commitment. Those that don’t and those that do will soon be divided into pre- and post-pandemic’ retail, and it’s very clear which will satisfy the new consumer outlook and appetite. 

From global to local

Retailers will also need to rethink the scale and focus of their business. In recent years, those retail brands that have flourished have been able to take advantage of globalisation – whether through cross-border exports or by leveraging a rapidly growing and high-spending tourism boom. 

In particular, the growth of China as a consumer has shaped and driven this growth – especially in the luxury sector. In 2018, Chinese tourists overseas spent $277 billion (up from $10 billion in 2000), which is almost double the amount spent by US tourists in the same year.[1] And in the UK, the number of Chinese visitors quadrupled between 2010 and 2019. 

But in the post-COVID world, the tourism boom is likely to implode. Tourist spend is likely to be focused in-country, rather than abroad, and this will require retailers to rethink and recalibrate. Yes, globalisation has driven growth, but it has also created problems, so perhaps more localised and locally relevant brands and services will be required. By thinking local and sustainable, by reimagining space, relationships and environments, businesses can begin to prepare themselves for the future retail landscape.