2021 年国际妇女节 - 聚焦 Joanna Bacon

为庆祝国际妇女节,贝诺聚焦女性先驱者和有抱负的领导者,她们创造了真正有影响力的变化。在这篇报道中,我们介绍了伦敦工作室的建筑助理 Joanna Bacon(第二部分)。

设计思维
London skyline

是什么吸引您从事建筑和设计的?

在学校读书时,我一直醉心于艺术,对于大学是读美术还是建筑学难以抉择。第一次来伦敦实际上影响了我的决定。我从来没有去伦敦这样的城市,发现这座城市处处洋溢着令人备受启迪的氛围,于是我知道了建筑才是我真正想要学习的专业。

Jo Bacon headshot landscape

您最喜欢自己工作的哪些方面?

我非常喜欢 3D 建模和制作能够捕捉空间本质的视觉材料。我喜欢与他人合作,喜欢看到各种构思想法相结合,变幻成不同的形状和形式,并进一步发展为成熟的设计。

到目前为止,您认为谁曾在您的职业生涯中给了您启发?

我想说的是,Kevin Fellingham 曾经给了我莫大的启发,他是我在开普敦大学的一位讲师。。他的作品很漂亮。那些作品的美不言自明,展现的是简洁的线条和简单的建筑,但每一个细节都体现出独一无二的独特设计。他充分考虑到光如何在空间内发挥作用,以及建筑形式如何融入自然。他是我的导师,指导我完成我的硕士学位,并对我今天的设计方式产生了一定的影响。

您认为优秀的领导力是什么样子?

我相信,优秀的领导力来自于了解你所领导的人,具备强大的沟通能力、时间管理能力并以身作则。

您认为女性在建筑领域面临的挑战比男性更严峻吗?我们可以做些什么来克服这些挑战?

这个问题确实涉及两性平等这一巨大议题。我不会推测该如何回答这个广泛的话题,而是从我自己在建筑界的经历谈起。我的回答可能带有偏见,因为目前为止我的经历都还不错。我曾在几家公司工作过,那里的女性享受与男性同等的机会,并未受到歧视。我们一群来自贝诺的女孩最近参加了一个庆祝建筑领域女性人才的活动,很幸运地听到了 Sheila O'Donnell 和 Eva Prats(“年度最佳建筑设计师”奖的提名者)等人的演讲,她们向我们展示了尽管我们可能面临种种挑战,但女性在建筑领域的表现令人惊叹。

我们生活的时代在不断进步。为了克服建筑行业中这些不平等的挑战,我认为我们女性需要不断地向前推进,展示我们的能力,同时让崭露头角的年轻女性建筑设计师获得与我同样的积极经验。

London 2

您会对刚开始从事建筑事业/学习的年轻时的自己说些什么?

试着弄明白,到底是什么原因让你想从事建筑行业。找到一位能够激励你的导师,与那些追究卓越的人为伍,这样你永远都不会停下学习的脚步。

Jo Bacon headshot landscape
London 2

International Women’s Day 2021 - Spotlight on Joanna Bacon

In celebration of International Women’s Day on March 8th, we're profiling female trailblazers and aspiring leaders creating real impactful change across our global business. For this piece, we asked Joanna Bacon, Architectural Designer in our London studio to share her thoughts on what inspires her in her daily work.

Return to Design Thinking
London skyline

What drew you to a career in architecture and design?

Being very happily art-driven throughout my school years, I found myself stuck choosing either Fine Art or Architecture to study at University. Visiting London for the first time is actually what swayed my decision. I’d never been anywhere like it before and found the whole atmosphere really inspiring, to the point where I knew Architecture was what I really wanted to do. 

Jo Bacon headshot landscape

What do you enjoy most about your job?

I really enjoy 3D modelling and producing visuals that capture the essence of a space. I love working with other people and seeing a combination of ideas materialize into shapes and forms and further down the line into fully developed designs. 

Is there anyone you would say has inspired you in your career to date?

I would say that Kevin Fellingham, one of my lecturers at the University of Cape Town definitely inspired me. His work is beautiful. It speaks for itself, shows clean lines and simple architecture but each detail is unique and specifically designed. A huge amount of consideration is given to how light works within a space and how a built form is integrated into nature. He was my mentor through my masters and has definitely had an impact on how I design today. 

What does good leadership look like to you?

I believe good leadership comes with knowing the people you are leading,strong communication, time management skills and leading by example. 

Do you think women face particular challenges in the architectural world more so than men? What kinds of things can we do to overcome this?

This question really speaks to the huge topic of gender equality. I won’t speculate on the broader topic but rather talk from my own experience in the architectural world. My answer may be biased as I have only had good experiences so far. I have worked at firms where women are given the same opportunities as men and are not discriminated against. A group of us girls from Benoy recently attended an event celebrating women in architecture where we were lucky enough to hear from the likes of Sheila O’Donnell and Eva Prats (nominees for architect of the year’ award), who showed us that despite any challenges we may face, women are doing amazing things in architecture. 

We live in a day and age that is progressive. To overcome these challenges of inequality in the architectural profession, I believe that we as women need to keep pushing forward and showing off what we’re capable of, and in the process, give young upcoming female architects access to the same kinds of positive experiences I have had. 

London 2

What would you tell your younger self, just starting out in their architectural career/​studies?

Try and pinpoint what exactly it is about architecture that has made you want to pursue it. Find yourself a mentor that inspires you and surround yourself with others who aim for excellence so that you never stop learning. 

Jo Bacon headshot landscape
London 2