伦敦工作室大变样 - 转变工作方式的原因

Dawn Bingham

联系方式 Dawn Bingham, Group Talent Director
dawn.bingham@handley-house.com

Elliot Mitchel

联系方式 Elliott Mitchell, Senior Interior Designer
elliott.mitchell@benoy.com

伦敦工作室正采用灵活工作环境,开启全新工作社交空间,我们称之为 The Loft。接下来集团人力资源总监 Dawn Bingham 和 The Loft 首席室内设计师 Elliot Barnes 将谈谈该项目的诞生以及重要性。

设计思维
Banner small 2
Elliot 1 smaller rectangle

Dawn — 打造 The Loft 空间背后的部分原因是向更灵活的工作方式转变,您能和我们谈一谈吗?

新冠疫情爆发之前,我们便已在实现灵活工作方式的道路上努力几年了。我和其他几年前加入的同事已经在灵活工作环境中工作过,并且体验到这种环境带给企业和同事的好处,同事们很想分享这些经验,推动企业发展。在与员工协商过后,我们开始改变他们的工作方式,实施灵活的上下班时间,改进信息技术,允许员工更顺利的进行远程办公,并且使用 Zoom 和 Teams 进行会议。作为一家国际企业,我们已经采取了许多灵活原则,但还从未将其打造成一种品牌。2019 年,我重返新加坡工作室,继续和董事会同事、我的团队和其他业务部门以“灵活工作”方式工作,测试技术并证明以此方式开展工作的有效性。2020 年 3 月,新冠疫情来袭,让我们有机会加快实施“灵活工作”计划,加快实现远程办公。

1

现在做出这种改变背后的考量是什么呢?

2020 年夏末,我们回到工作室,大家对在第一次疫情隔离中远程工作所获得的好处念念不忘,所以我们开始准备,想让工作室更适合全新的工作模式。我们已经开始向“2:3”工作模式转变,即员工每周至少两天到工作室工作,然后在条件允许的情况下,在最合适他们的地方完成另外三天的工作。

更深层次的原因是,Handley House 集团旗下四家姊妹公司近期的发展:贝诺,Uncommonland、Pragma 和 Holmes Wood。我们希望大家能在同一空间下通力合作,相互沟通。The Loft 空间在我们致力于实现这一目标的过程中起到了关键作用。

Elliot 2 smaller 2

关于这种新方式,您有没有从员工那里得到相关反馈?

和许多企业一样,员工问卷调查是收集员工反馈的一种常规方式。我们利用早年收到的反馈意见为 The Loft 概念提供参考。我问了同事许多问题,比如他们喜欢的工作环境是什么、他们想要什么时候在工作室办公以及他们想要什么类型的活动。虽然自办公空间开放以来,我们还没有正式接触所有员工,但我们确实了解到员工对未来的转变充满期待。

我们还得到许多非正式的面对面反馈;我们的同事在分享自己的想法方面也不甘落后!总体来说,我们所收到的反馈意见强烈支持我们的做法。同样,我们的客户也非常积极,将我们视作从正式工作转向灵活工作领域的佼佼者。

6

Elliot — 您领衔设计了这个空间,您是如何发展这一概念的呢?什么事情启发了您的思维?

设计这一空间是为了服务 Handley House 集团的所有成员 — 贝诺、PragmaHolmes Wood 以及 Uncommon Land。随着疫情逐渐得到控制,我们也都逐渐回到了工作室工作,我们希望能够为员工打造一个期待前往的办公空间。

适应性是设计的关键。我们设计了各种类型的座位,满足个人需要,同时各种规模的团体也能在 The Loft 中找到合适的位置。设计包括立式办公桌、共享办公桌以及更加私密的座位区域,提供丰富多样的工作和会议选择。通过引入柔和的灯光和精心设计的种植方案,我们希望能够打造一个既能赋予员工活力,又能让员工放松的办公环境。

Enscape render small

最终的空间效果如何?

The Loft 为 Handley House 的每一位员工设计,汇集各种创意设计理念,打造协作交流空间。这一灵活内部环境绿意盎然,充满有趣的平面设计,旨在庆贺我们的过去、现在和未来。虽然现在还处于设计初期,但到目前为止,同事们的反馈都很积极。

Elliot 3 smaller

作为一名设计师,在这个过程中您最享受的是什么?

与 Handley House 的不同团队合作非常愉快,而且从我的办公桌到达工作现场仅需不到 30 秒绝对称得上是锦上添花!

Elliot 1 smaller rectangle
1
Elliot 2 smaller 2
6
Enscape render small
Elliot 3 smaller

All change in our London studio - why it's time to embrace a different way of working

Dawn Bingham

Contact Dawn Bingham, Group Talent Director
dawn.bingham@handley-house.com

Elliot Mitchel

Contact Elliott Mitchell, Senior Interior Designer
elliott.mitchell@benoy.com

Our London studio is embracing agile working, starting with a brand new work-social space we've called The Loft. Here our Group Talent Director, Dawn Bingham and lead Interior Designer for The Loft, Elliott Mitchell, talk about how the project came about and why it matters.

Return to Design Thinking
Banner small 2
Elliot 1 smaller rectangle

Dawn — part of the rationale behind creating The Loft space was about moving towards a more agile style of working, can you tell us a bit about that?

Our journey towards agile working has been a couple of years in the making, starting before Covid hit. Myself and others who joined the business a few years ago had worked in agile environments and experienced the benefits this can bring for both the business and colleagues and were keen to share these experiences to take the business forward. After consultation with our people we began to implement changes to the way they worked, moving to flexible start and finish times, improving IT to allow better remote working and introducing the use of Zoom and Teams for meetings. As an international business, we had already been operating many agile principles, but had never branded them as such. During 2019 I relocated to our Singapore studio, continuing to work with my Board colleagues, my team and the rest of the business in an​‘agile working’ manner, testing the technology and demonstrating how this could work effectively. The arrival of Covid in March 2020 gave us the opportunity to fast forward our​‘agile working’ plans, allowing us to move swiftly into remote working.

1

What was the thinking behind making the change now?

As we returned to the studio late summer 2020, there was little appetite to leave behind the many remote working benefits we had gained in the first lockdown, so we began preparations to make the studio better suited to new working patterns. We had already started the process of moving towards a​‘2:3’ working pattern, asking staff to attend the studio for a minimum of two days a week, with them then working where best suited them for the other three days, where their role allowed. 

A further factor was our recent growth to four sister businesses in the Handley House group: Benoy, Uncommonland, Pragma and Holmes Wood. We wanted a space where everyone could come together to collaborate and socialise. The Loft space plays a key part in allowing us to achieve that.

Elliot 2 smaller 2

Have you had much feedback from staff about this new approach?

Like many businesses, we use an employee survey as a formal way to gather feedback from staff. We used the feedback we received in the early years to inform The Loft concept. We asked colleagues questions about their about preferred work environment along with other questions about when they needed to be in the studio and for what type of activity. We’ve yet to go back to staff formally since opening the space, but do know that staff have been excited at the prospect of the changes being made.

We also get a good deal of informal face-to-face feedback; colleagues here at not backward in sharing what they think! In the main, the feedback has been very strongly in favour of what we are doing. Equally some of our clients have been very positive, seeing us as leaders in our field for formally moving to agile working.

6

Elliott — you led on the design of the space, how did you develop the concept and what kinds of things inspired your thinking?

The space was designed to celebrate all the members of the Handley House group — Benoy, Pragma, Holmes Wood and Uncommon Land. As we slowly come back to the studio following the pandemic, we wanted to give people somewhere they’d look forward to spending time. 

Adaptability was key to the design. We created varied seating typologies to suit the needs of the individual and to allow for groups of all sizes to find their place within The Loft. The design includes a mix of stand-up desks, shared tables and more private seating areas to offer a range of different working and meeting options. Through bringing in soft lighting and a carefully thought through planting scheme, we hope we’ve managed to create somewhere that is both energising and relaxing for staff to spend time in. 

Enscape render small

How has the final space turned out?

The Loft is a space for everyone in Handley House, where all of the creative design disciplines can come together to collaborate. It is a flexible interior environment, filled with biophilia and playful graphics that celebrate our past, present, and future. It’s early days, but so far the reaction from colleagues has been very positive.

Elliot 3 smaller

What have you as a designer most enjoyed about the process?

Working with all the different teams within Handley House has been great, and being able to be on-site within 30 seconds from my desk has definitely been a bonus!

Elliot 1 smaller rectangle
1
Elliot 2 smaller 2
6
Enscape render small
Elliot 3 smaller