热爱/工作:后新冠肺炎疫情工作环境中的混合性和平衡性

C 151111 N22 hd

联系方式 佘琼成, 香港,新加坡和深圳公司负责人
terence.seah@benoy.com

有迹象表明,本次疫情可能将变成一种新常态,世界各地的公司正在考虑接下来的工作模式安排。让员工回到办公室办公?继续居家办公?或设计新型的混合解决方案?贝诺香港、新加坡和深圳负责人 Terence Seah 在此回答了贝诺对后疫情时期工作场所模型及探索的相关问题。

设计思维
5579 N4 hd
Jenga master EN

问:您对当前返回办公室的情绪有何看法?您认为返回办公室办公的模式会一如从前吗?

答:对于公司应如何管理员工重返工作岗位,各方似乎看法不一。一方面,高盛的首席执行官 David Solomon 表示,他希望所有员工都回到办公室,并将远程工作称为“失常”。摩根大通在有关重返工作岗位的布告中也同样强调了这一点。欧洲企业为了扩大在家办公的模式,一直在缩小办公空间,而亚洲企业正在向办公室回归。

这是一场有趣的辩论。对于以创意为导向的创新型公司和机构来说,让人们聚集在一起可以促进协作、产生富有创造性的交流及灵感碰撞。但过去一年也表明远程工作也是卓有成效的。员工可以在较非正式的环境中保持高效、自律和敬业。

Socialscape EN

问:您发现人们对工作环境/日常工作的期望发生变化了吗?

答:根据 Colliers高力国际 的研究,在亚太地区接受调查的员工中,54% 的受访者表示疫情期间在家工作时,他们的工作效率没有变化。约 50% 的受访者表示,他们更愿意继续每周在家工作一到两天;同时有 88% 的受访者表示他们的经理能够进行远程管理。

此外,63% 的受访者表示,由于在家办公,他们能更好地平衡工作与生活;而 77% 的受访者仍然认为他们需要保持与团队的联系。此外,若居家办公模式占整个工作模式的 50% 的话,每位员工每年可节省 11,000 美元,这就带来了财务增值。这一点让人们更愿意居家办公。

然而有趣的是,人们也说,在家办公不再出现“明确优先级”、“生活与工作分离”、“日常午餐”、“偶遇同事”,这些办公室生活中更社交化、更便捷、更学院化的方面。

总体而言,该研究为平衡提供了有力的证明。它表明,随着我们逐渐摆脱疫情,兼顾远程工作和基于办公室的混合工作模式很可能成为一种受欢迎和行之有效的选择。

Conventional model EN

问:您将如何利用这些趋势和偏好来指导您的工作场所项目?

答:贝诺一直在收集各种数据和信息来探索新的工作空间、场所和全新的场景设计模型。这一项目,我们称之为“热爱/工作”,涉及到探索“工作部落”的概念,以帮助我们构思出响应不同员工需求和愿望的设计。举例来说,我们一直在研究“支柱人群”(精品用餐者、投资者、婴儿潮一代);“数字游民”(视频博主、游戏玩家、Y 世代);还有 Boh-Hommes(café hoppers、慢跑者、Z 世代)等在工作场所的概况和倾向。

我们还设计了一系列“工作环境”模型,以适应远程和办公室工作的不同配置。如“Monoscape”,这是一种传统的模式,一个公司占据办公大楼的一层,通常位于中央商务区,所有的员工都在一个固定的地点工作。还有一种是“e-Scape”模式,它是一种在家与在公司总部工作的模式,员工可以远程工作,也可以在总部办公室工作。或者“Socialscape”,这是一个“共同社区”,将几个企业和部门聚集在一个共同的地方,共享资源、设施和设施。

“Performancescape”是一种基于弹性工作机制和核心办公场景的办公模式。这一模式下,房东允许公司为核心业务长期租用空间,另外还有一个灵活的工作空间,以适应不断变化的员工和业务需求。最后是“Miniscape”,这是一种中心辐射型模式,公司保留一个中心办公区,但会将工作空间的一部分重新分配到几个卫星办公室。

10 Particular Aspect of the project Ali Bridges

问:为什么会出现不同的办公模式?它们都有什么好处?

答:每个模式或场景都有不同的好处,比如节约成本、整合运营、资源共享或业务间协作。但至关重要的是,它们是根据我们所确定的不同“工作群体”的特定需求量身定制的。例如,“老板”最有可能在“Monoscape”的办公室里高效办公,这会形成强烈的企业认同感,并加强员工之间的互动。“数字游民”则更倾向于“e-Scape”的环境,因为这种模式促进良好的工作/生活平衡和灵活性。

这是为了确保我们设计的工作空间与特定最终用户的期望是相关的,且能响应他们的期望。在每种模式下,我们都探讨了如何将能量、情绪和环境结合起来,以优化生产力和创造力。

我们曾参与过世界各地的大型工作空间项目,因此我们已经精通这些不断发展的类型和模型。例如,中国的阿里巴巴江苏总部就是智慧城市社区和综合企业环境的一个展示窗口。与此同时,我们在英国的 Silvertown 项目是共享空间经济和灵活的综合用途类型的典范。

随着世界的重新发展,开发商需要知道目标租户是谁,以及如何满足租户的需求。借助我们“热爱/工作”的方法和工作空间设计的专业知识,我们可以向他们展示前行的最佳方式。

Silvertown rectangular
Image 2
Jenga master EN
Socialscape EN
Conventional model EN
10 Particular Aspect of the project Ali Bridges
Silvertown rectangular
Image 2

Love/Work: hybridity and balance in the post-COVID working environment

C 151111 N22 hd

Contact Terence Seah, Head of Hong Kong, Singapore and Shenzhen
terence.seah@benoy.com

With the new normal brought about by the pandemic, companies around the world are contemplating the future of their working arrangements. Bring employees back into the office? Keep them working from home? Or devise new hybrid solutions? Here, Terence Seah, Head of Hong Kong, Singapore and Shenzhen at Benoy, answers questions about Benoy’s exploration of workplace models for the post-COVID landscape.

Return to Design Thinking
5579 N4 hd
Jenga master EN

What’s your perception of the current mood around returning to offices, do you think it will ever be the same again?

There seems to be a really mixed view about how companies should manage the return to work. On the one hand, there’s David Solomon, CEO of Goldman Sachs, saying he wants all his people back in the office and calling remote working an aberration”. JP Morgan have been similarly emphatic in their edicts about office returns. European companies have been reducing office space in a bid to expand the homeworking model, while in Asia the shift back to the office is already underway.

It’s an interesting debate. For innovative, ideas-driven companies and institutions, having people together nurtures collaboration and enables creative exchanges and encounters. But the past year has also shown that remote working works. People can be productive, disciplined and engaged in more informal settings. 

Socialscape EN

Do you see a change in what people are looking for from their working environments/​routines?

According to research undertaken by Colliers International, 54% of employees surveyed in Asia Pacific said they experienced no change in productivity when working from home during the pandemic. Around 50% said they would prefer to continue working one-to-two days a week from home, while 88% reported that their manager is able to manage remotely.

What’s more, 63% said they were happier with their work-life balance as a result of homeworking, while 77% still felt connected to their team. There’s a financial value-add as well, with US $11,000 saved per year per employee on a 50% homeworking model. It’s fairly compelling evidence. 

And then, anecdotally, there are the things people say they miss: clarity of priorities’; separation of life and work’; regular lunches’; bumping into co-workers’ – the more social, convenient and collegiate aspects of office life. 

Overall, the research makes a strong case for balance. It suggests that the hybrid model, which accommodates a mix of both remote and office-based working, is likely to become a popular and effective option as we emerge from the pandemic. 

Conventional model EN

How are you using these trends and preferences to inform your workplace projects?

At Benoy, we’ve been assimilating a range of data and information to explore new design models for workspaces, places and scenarios. This project, which we call Love/​Work, has involved exploring the concept of worktribes’ to help us conceive designs that respond to the needs and wishes of different employees. So, for example, we’ve been looking at the workplace profiles and proclivities of Bosses’ (fine diners, investors, Boomers); Digital Nomads’ (vloggers, gamers, Gen Ys); and Boh-Hommes’ (café hoppers, joggers, Gen Zs), among others.

We’ve also devised a range of workscape’ models to accommodate different configurations of remote and office working. For example, the Monoscape’, a conventional model whereby a company occupies a floor in an office tower, often in a central business district, with all employees working from one fixed destination. Then there’s the e‑Scape’, which is a work-from-home-plus-HQ model, with employees working both remotely and from a central office location. Or the Socialscape’, which is a co-community’ bringing several businesses and sectors together in one common place, with shared resources, amenities and facilities. 

The Performancescape’, meanwhile, is based on a flex-and-core scenario. Here, a landlord allows a company to rent space on a long-term basis for their core operations, with an additional flexible workspace to accommodate changing staff and business needs. And finally, the Miniscape’, a hub-and-spoke model where a company retains a central hub but redistributes a percentage of its workspace across several satellite offices. 

10 Particular Aspect of the project Ali Bridges

Why the different scenarios? What do they offer?

Each model or scenario offers different benefits, such as cost savings, operational consolidation, shared resources or inter-business collaboration. But crucially, they are tailored to the very specific needs of the different worktribes’ we’ve identified. For example, Bosses’ are most likely to thrive in a Monoscape’ office, which reinforces a strong sense of corporate identity and enhances employee interaction. Digital Nomads’, on the other hand, will be more inclined towards an e‑Scape’ environment, which promotes a good work/​life balance and flexibility.

It’s about ensuring the workspaces we design are relevant and responsive to the aspirations of very particular end-users. And in each scenario, we’ve explored how energy, emotion and environment can be combined to optimise productivity and creativity. 

Having worked on major workspace projects around the world, we’re already well versed in many of these evolving typologies and models. The Alibaba Jiangsu Headquarters in China, for example, is a showcase in smart city communities and integrated corporate environments. Meanwhile, our Silvertown project in the UK is an exemplar for shared space economies and flexible mixed-use typologies.

As the world returns to work, developers need to know who their target tenants are and how their needs can be met. Through our Love/​Work approach and expertise in workspace design, we can show them the best way forward.

Silvertown rectangular
Image 2
Jenga master EN
Socialscape EN
Conventional model EN
10 Particular Aspect of the project Ali Bridges
Silvertown rectangular
Image 2