从不受欢迎的建筑中创造可持续的价值

James Wright Zhang

联系方式 James Wright-Zhang
james.wright-zhang@benoy.com

由于建筑和施工占全球碳排放总量的 39%,我们现在需要考虑将改造作为拆除不受欢迎建筑的一个重要替代方案。我们伦敦工作室的 James Wright-Zhang 思考了如何应用 EnerPHit 指南来重新激发曾被忽视的场地的吸引力。

设计思维
Ener Phit banner

1991 年第一批被动式房屋正达姆施塔特建成时,很少有人预料到,这种要求严格的被动性能将成为日益广泛的建筑行业的可行选项。然而,如今我们正处于全球气候危机之中,建筑行业与伦敦能源转型计划 (LETI) 等知名英国组织正在从被动式房屋标准中汲取灵感,以期减少对环境的影响。

被动式房屋与通过 EnerPHit 进行改造

作为处理“问题建筑”的城市建筑师,这对我们意味着什么?“问题建筑”可能是指服务过时,外部结构质量差,天花板低矮的建筑。面对这样的建筑,拆除往往被视为唯一可行的商业解决方案。在设计行业中,我们开始看到被动式建筑如何通过 PHI 的 EnerPHit 标准在改造市场上崭露头角,帮助不受欢迎的建筑展现其潜力。

EnerPHit 由被动式房屋研究所开发,在考虑处理现有建筑时面临的额外技术挑战的同时,为实现强大的被动性能提供指导。关键标准取决于外部结构的性能、装置的效率以及集成 MVHR 系统的能力。

210602 EDC Ener P Hit Diagram Cropped 1

通过改造使过时的建筑重获新生

虽然许多华丽时期的建筑出于保护的原因可能难以将密封和厚隔热材料整合到一起,但相较于普通的同类建筑,它们往往是外部改造的首选。厚隔热材料和密封层能够遮盖过时的外墙,为现代设计风格提供新的画布,此外还可以消除大多数热桥,实现高性能被动设计。此外,适当尺寸的窗户开口通常可以调整,以适应被动式房屋三层玻璃窗户的大小,从而管理收益。最后,低天花板和维修管道设备基本不会阻碍高效的 MVHR 系统为改造后的建筑提供新鲜空气和供暖。在某些情况下,整合此系统可以改变天花板高度,并从原本不可行的空间催生出强大商业机会。

210602 EDC Ener P Hit Diagram Cropped 2v2

EnerPHit 和提升的能源性能

就长期性能而言,实现 EnerPHit 标准的 25 千瓦/平方米/年的空间供冷和供暖要求,可以使建筑的总能源成本降到原来的 10-15%。这还没有将维护需求减少和碳税减少带来的资本节约考虑在内。如果再加上因最大程度避免拆除而节省的大量资金,EnerPHit 很快就可以开始带来经济价值了。

应对具有挑战性的空气质量/噪音污染问题

参考 EnerPHit 指南也可以为具有特殊挑战性环境背景的场地增加价值。贝诺正处于一个综合体项目的早期阶段,该项目面临着空气质量和噪音问题的限制。通过将高度隔热和密封的单元与用于供冷和过滤空气的 MVHR 系统有效集成,问题得到了解决。在这些情况下,采用 EnerPHit 原则进行改造不仅是理想化的,而且还能独特地将不健康的环境转化为适宜居住的空间。

作为对可持续城市复兴充满热情的设计师,我们很高兴看到我们如何将这种改造思维应用到英国及其他国家/地区曾被忽视的场地和建筑中。

210602 EDC Ener P Hit Diagram Cropped 1
210602 EDC Ener P Hit Diagram Cropped 2v2

Creating sustainable value from undesirable buildings

James Wright Zhang

Contact James Wright-Zhang
james.wright-zhang@benoy.com

With building and construction responsible for 39% of all carbon emissions in the world, it's time for all of us to consider retrofitting as a serious alternative to demolishing ‘undesirable’ buildings. Here James Wright-Zhang from our London studio, reflects on how applying EnerPHit guidelines can re-energise the appeal of previously overlooked sites.

Return to Design Thinking
Ener Phit banner

When the first Passivhaus buildings were constructed in Darmstadt back in 1991, few would have predicted that this kind of exacting passive performance would ever become a viable option for the wider construction industry. Today, however, as we find ourselves in the middle of a global climate crisis, the industry, alongside notable UK organisations like the London Energy Transformation Initiative (LETI) are taking cues from Passivhaus standards as they look to reduce environmental impact. 

Passivhaus and retrofitting via EnerPHit

What does this mean for us as urban architects dealing with problem buildings,’ perhaps with outdated services, poor-quality external fabric and low ceilings, where demolition is often seen as the only viable commercial solution? In the design industry, we are beginning to see how passive building is making its mark on the retrofit market through the PHI’s EnerPHit standard, helping unloved buildings to show their potential. 

EnerPHit, developed by the Passivhaus Institut, provides guidance for achieving strong passive performance while considering the additional technical challenges of dealing with existing buildings. Key criteria are determined through the external fabric’s performance, efficiency of appliances, and the ability to integrate MVHR

210602 EDC Ener P Hit Diagram Cropped 1

Bringing back unloved buildings through retrofitting

While many ornate period buildings might struggle to integrate airtightness and thick insulation for conservation reasons, often their more mundane counterparts are prime candidates for external modifications. Thick insulation and airtight layers can mask an outdated façade and present a new canvas for modern design touches, with the added benefit of enabling the elimination of most thermal bridges to achieve high-performance passive design. Additionally, conservatively sized window openings can often be adjusted to accommodate Passivhaus triple-glazed windows sized to manage gains. Finally, low-ceilings and service duct provisions rarely prohibit efficient MVHR systems from providing the fresh-air and heating requirements for the retrofit. In some instances, integrating this system allows the reclamation of ceiling height and can make the difference between an unviable space and a strong commercial opportunity. 

210602 EDC Ener P Hit Diagram Cropped 2v2

EnerPHit and improved energy performance

In terms of long-term performance, achieving the EnerPHit standard’s space heating and cooling reqirement of 25kWh/​m2/​year can result in a building’s total energy costs diving to just 10 – 15% of their original values. This is before considering reduced maintenance requirements and capital savings from reduced carbon levies. When combined with significant savings due to minimal demolition, EnerPHit quickly starts to make financial sense.

Working with challenging air quality/​noise pollution

Working with EnerPHit guidelines can also add value to sites with particularly challenging environmental contexts. At Benoy, we are in the early stages of a mixed-use project faced with both intense air quality and noise constraints. These issues are being eliminated through the effective integration of highly insulated and airtight units with MVHR for cooling and air filtration. Retrofits using EnerPHit’s principles in these situations do not just become desirable but are also uniquely adapted to transform unhealthy conditions into liveable spaces. 

As designers with a passion for sustainable urban regeneration, we’re excited to see how we can apply this retrofit thinking to previously overlooked sites and buildings both in the UK and beyond. 

210602 EDC Ener P Hit Diagram Cropped 1
210602 EDC Ener P Hit Diagram Cropped 2v2