迈向更环保的零售设计

Mike Mac Cormack black and white 5

联系方式 Mike Wilson-MacCormack
mike.wilson-maccormack@benoy.com

作为设计师,我们可以通过哪些行动使零售环境更具可持续性,让零售设计更负责任?在我们定期举行的“Fireside Chat”工作室系列讨论中,我们邀请了来自全球各地的同事分享他们的想法和观点,探讨如何解决当今零售业所面临的一些环境问题。请参阅下面的讨论结果。

设计思维
Header retail blog v2

Mike Wilson-MacCormack,贝诺董事兼纽瓦克工作室负责人

我们启动项目的方法有很多,通常从场地分析开始,或者是研究建筑施工方法或先例。不论我们还是我们的客户,对项目可能都有总体的架构愿景。大多数项目都是从组合这些元素开始的。

但如果从最可持续发展的角度来考虑,我们该如何开启项目呢?我们实际上从该角度开启项目的频率如何?这又会带来什么样的影响?

无可否认,零售业正面临着巨大的挑战。我们看到了线上购物的增长呈现势不可挡之势,也发现了消费趋势的重大变化,即消费者对于体验比购买行为本身更加重视。我们现在可能正处于为了体验而追求体验的时候。借用塞尔福里奇百货前首席执行官 Simon Forster 的话,未来门店零售发展需要的是“创意而非库存”。由于人们已经对实体品牌完成了研究与接触,因此很有可能会继续在线上购买我们的产品。而新冠肺炎疫情的爆发,进一步加剧了消费者的这些行为。

在商业街和市中心,目前零售空间供过于求;同时,我们观察到许多顶级开发商和业主专注于炫耀性资产,并处置次要资产。随着新加入者以低价值获得抛售的房地产,他们便来到我们面前,并问道:“我们该如何处理这处多余的零售空间?”

那么,我们是否要拆除重建?还是需要重新规划、重新构想呢?

新建筑让我们有机会专注于碳封存,使用木材而不是钢材和混凝土材料,利用可再生能源发电,并且创造新的景观和绿地。例如格拉斯哥的国王路、奥尔平顿和布坎南画廊 ([JC1]),贝诺的这些新建筑项目正在为商业街注入新的活力,支持当地就业和经济发展,并提供新的住宅和工作场所。

但拆除重建一定是正确的方法吗?这些资产中,有的建成时间甚至还未达到 40 年,就将它们拆除并替换掉,这样做真的妥当吗?这些结构中存在的所有碳成分的存续时间都如此之短,这真的是正确的举措吗?我们是否真的确信重建不会是另一个循环周期的开始?

重新规划又如何呢?传统零售资产通常与更现代化的需求不一致。它们往往是真正深入的计划和僵化的,光照不好,自然通风条件有限。这种结构不易转化为住宅、医疗或工作场所等用途。我们可以将这些宽敞空间改为休闲活动和探险运动空间,或者用来做黑暗厨房或最后一英里物流。但是否有机会在这些空间中创造一些感觉更像是商业街的东西?

在零售方面,我们是可以重建和重新规划的。但如何指导我们的决策呢?例如,我们是否应该设计一个无法改建的建筑?我们是否应该创造安装空调、人工照明和高度服务化的空间?我们是否应该创造一些不花钱就不受欢迎的私人空间?我们如何为可持续零售创建模板?阻碍我们采用这种方法的消极阻力或障碍的来源是什么?

[JC1]这是正确的吗?

Mike Mac Cormack black and white 21

Anton Comrie,Uncommon Land 高级副总监

环境和研究的重要性

可持续性已成为一门以研究为基础的科学学科。研究是需要我们做得更好的事情之一,基于此我们理解如何在正确的环境中应用合适的可持续性解决方案。

如果不了解这些背景变化的影响和后果,从一个地方向另一个地方输出观点是欠缺的。在贝诺,我们有幸在一个非常广泛的背景环境中工作;但我们必须了解工作的每一个环境,以确保实现“合理设计和合理规划”。这是可持续发展最基本的第一步。

因此,研究部分是至关重要的。通过提升知识,我们可以确保与客户交谈时真正了解主题并开展 100% 相关的工作。作为设计人员,我们通常希望立即开始绘制线条;但有时最好抑制下,直到掌握了做出有关可持续性的明智决策所需的知识。因为一旦设计工作开始,商业诉求往往会将可持续性置于流程的后面,并使我们无法积累良好的知识基础。

了解我们在每个项目的可持续性和创造性上花费了多少时间是很有意思的。是 3% 还是 5%?也许我们需要确保在每个项目工作期间,至少将 15-20% 的时间花在可持续发展上。

Anton Comrie black and white 12

Fenia Lenta 和 Magda Jaslar,贝诺环境设计委员会

发展知识和工具

在设计过程中,我们开始在可持续性方面花费更多的时间。在贝诺环境设计委员会 (EDC) 的支持下,我们开始通过办公室传播知识,为人们提供将可持续性原则融入其工作的工具。

我们越来越多地进行早期环境分析,这种分析非常有用。我们总能做得更多,但我们正在开始获取和落实知识。放眼未来,我们需要确保每个项目至少经过了气候分析,并考虑了哪些项目可行、哪些不可行。此外,我们需要根据开始时确定的基准,在项目发展过程中重新审视和审查环境绩效。

我们真正可以测试模型的地方是与炎热气候的被动设计相关的,主要是集中于体量、街道结构、遮蔽和遮荫。经过在中东不断扩大的投资组合,我们在这个工作领域呈现不断上升的发展势头。我们必须采取气候或区域方法来实现可持续性,并确定那些可以在世界不同地区产生影响的行动。同样重要的是,我们要就这些行动达成一致,并在每个项目开始时与客户确定目标。否则,进行研究或设计客户没有参与的干预措施可能会浪费时间。

Both

Simon Grimbley,Uncommon Land 总监

景观和绿地的价值

景观的风光正盛。尽管景观对减少碳排放的影响实际上是微乎其微的,但开放式绿地的无形价值近年来得到了广泛关注。特别是在新冠疫情期间,人们对公共景观和公共景观的关联性和必要性的认识急剧提高。通常情况下,绿地在社会和环境方面的价值可能会比其所拥有的零售资产更有价值。那么,能否有办法从这一领域产生直接收入?

展示景观的实际价值及其带来的好处将是将是一个巨大的进步。因为景观从未被视为您可销售获利的东西,而总是被视为一种成本。它不能以每平方英尺的价格租用,也不能按单位销售,通常被视为附加产品。我们凭直觉知道它的价值,但我们需要更多的经验;我们需要能展示出景观和绿地的实际有形价值。

Simon G

雷天任,贝诺新加坡公司设计总监

平衡室内和室外环境

在新加坡,我们正在重新开发现有的零售项目。在新加坡的市场和气候条件下,客户要求建造一个露天零售村,这种情况非常少见。在新加坡,由于气候炎热潮湿,人们倾向于在有空调的零售店内寻求庇护。但新冠疫情改变了人们的思维,因为他们越来越清楚地看到自然阴凉和通风的开阔空间的价值。

在这里,户外村庄类型当然是独一无二的,但它是设计中对可持续性问题日益认识的一部分。人们越来越清楚地意识到,景观空间、高架公园和户外活动对当地人的吸引力不亚于零售业。

在炎热的气候下,这样做是为了让外界环境更容易忍受;也是为了在内部和外部之间实现平衡。有时,内部和外部之间的过渡可能会非常剧烈;您不能从有空调的室内设计转变为炽热的室外设计,需要保持平衡,设计师需要平等地致力于这两个部分,否则,人们将会难以抉择。当然,屋顶被从购物中心拆下,或者封闭式商场被翻过来这样的“去商场”项目需要小心处理。

Wesley Louis jpg

Rob Bentley,贝诺董事

寻找当地价值

从英国市场的角度来看,我们必须尊重城镇中心的自然演变。我们看到了区域城市地区最近的发展,这些发展有效地实现搬迁及同时建立新的城镇中心。如果您以这种方式转移注意力,就会产生巨大的影响。

更重要的是找到您所处地方的价值,并找到创造价值的驱动因素。这样,我们就可以开始创造人们想去的地方。这反过来又推动了住宅或其他用途的价值,这些用途可能支持您的零售或市中心发展。

我们还需要注意社会和社区层面以及其他基本条件。当地的就业状况、教育状况和贫困状况都需要成为城镇可持续零售解决方案的一部分。

Robert Bentley black and white 5

Ioannis Bourlakis,贝诺建筑部副总监

政策在推动变革方面的作用

虽然我们会努力尝试为客户项目和挑战设计最佳解决方案,但关键驱动因素是政策的制定。作为建筑设计师,如果我们不参与政策制定,那么将不会带来任何真正意义上的变革。

我们在进行建筑设计时需要遵守规则。例如,我们需要硬性要求所有办公建筑设计都必须采用较浅的占地面积,并且必须能够转换为住宅。但在我们参与可持续发展政策制定之前,我们只能是治标不治本。

Ioannis
Mike Mac Cormack black and white 21
Anton Comrie black and white 12
Both
Simon G
Wesley Louis jpg
Robert Bentley black and white 5
Ioannis

Towards greener retail design - a studio discussion

Mike Mac Cormack black and white 5

Contact Mike Wilson-MacCormack
mike.wilson-maccormack@benoy.com

What can we as designers do to make retail environments more sustainable and retail design more responsible? As part of our regular studio ‘Fireside Chat’ discussion series, we invited colleagues from across the business to share their thoughts and ideas about how to address some of the environmental factors facing retail today. See their findings below.

Return to Future Thinking
Header retail blog v2

Mike Wilson-MacCormack, Director, Head of Newark Studio, Benoy

There are many ways we can start our projects. Quite often we start with a site analysis, or by looking at construction methodology or precedents. We or our clients might have an overarching architectural vision. Probably most projects start as a combination of all these elements. 

But what about starting by considering the most sustainable approach to the development in question? How often do we actually start from that point and see what emerges?

Of course, the challenges facing retail are huge. We’ve seen the inexorable rise of online purchasing. And we’ve seen a major shift in consumer trends, whereby experiences are increasingly valued over acquisition. It’s possible we’re at the point now where we pursue experience for experience’s sake. To borrow a phrase from Simon Forster, former CEO of Selfridges, invention not inventory” is the way forward for in-store retail. Because having done their research and been exposed to brands in the physical world, people are still more likely to make our purchases online. And the COVID-19 pandemic has further entrenched these behaviours. 

In our highstreets and town centres, we now have a huge oversupply of retail space; and we see top-tier developers and owners focusing on trophy assets and disposing of anything secondary. As new entrants pick up discarded real estate at low value, they’re coming to us and asking, what do we do with this redundant retail space?’

So, do we demolish and rebuild? Or do we repurpose and reimagine? 

Newbuild gives us an opportunity to focus on carbon sequestration, to use timber rather than steel and concrete, to leverage renewable energy generation and to create new landscaping and greenspace. Newbuild Benoy projects, such as Kings Road, Orpington and Buchanan Galleries in Glasgow, are breathing new life into highstreets, supporting local jobs and economies, and providing new homes and workplaces. 

But is demolish and rebuild always the right way to go? Is it right that these assets, some of which aren’t even 40 years old, will be swept away and replaced? Is it okay that all the embodied carbon in these structures has had such a relatively short life? And are we really convinced that rebuilding is not just another wheel in another cycle?

And what about repurposing? Traditional retail assets are often at odds with more contemporary needs. They tend to be really deep plan and inflexible, with poor access to daylight and limited opportunities for natural ventilation. Such structures don’t transform easily into uses such as residential, medical or workplace. We can repurpose these deep spaces for leisure activities and adventure sports, for dark kitchens or last-mile logistics. But are there opportunities to create something out of these spaces that feels more like a high street? 

When it comes to retail, yes we can rebuild and yes we can repurpose. But what guides our decisions? For instance, should we ever design a building we cannot adapt? Should we ever create spaces that are airconditioned, artificially lit and highly serviced? Should we ever create private space where if you’re not spending you’re not welcome? And how do we create a template for sustainable retail? What are the sources of passive resistance or barriers that prevent us from taking a particular path? 

Mike Mac Cormack black and white 21

Anton Comrie, Senior Associate Director, Uncommon Land

The importance of context and research

Sustainability has become a scientific discipline grounded in research. And one of the things we need to do better is research, so we understand how to apply the right kind of sustainability solutions to the right contexts.

It’s not enough to export ideas from one place to another without understanding the ramifications and implications of these contextual shifts. At Benoy, we have the privilege of working across a very broad contextual landscape; but we have to understand each of the contexts we work in to ensure that we achieve right design right place’. This is the most basic first step in sustainability.

So the research component is critical. By developing our knowledge, when we speak to clients we can ensure we really know our subject matter and develop work that is 100% relevant. As designers, we often want to start drawing lines immediately; but sometimes it’s good to hold back until we have the knowledge we need to make informed decisions about sustainability. Because once the design work begins, commercial imperatives tend to push sustainability to the back of the process and divert us away from accruing a sound base of knowledge.

It would be interesting to know how much time we spend on sustainability versus creativity on each project. Is it 3%, 5%? Perhaps we need to ensure we spend at least 15 – 20% of our time on sustainability during each piece of project work.

Anton Comrie black and white 12

Magda Jaslar and Fenia Lenta — Benoy Environmental Design Committee

Developing knowledge and tools

We’re beginning to spend more time on sustainability earlier on in the design process. Through Benoy’s Environmental Design Committee (EDC), we’re starting to spread knowledge through the office, giving people the tools to embed sustainability principles into their work. 

Increasingly, we’re conducting early environmental analysis, which has been very useful. We could always do more, but we’re beginning to acquire and implement knowledge. Going forward, we need to ensure every project goes out having undergone a climate analysis at the very least, plus considerations as to what’s working and what’s not. Further, we need to revisit and review environmental performance as a project evolves, against the baseline we establish at the outset. 

Where we can really test our models is in relation to passive design for hot climates by focusing on massing, street formations, screening and shading. This is an area of work that’s really gaining momentum through our expanding portfolio in the Middle East. And it’s essential we take a climatic or regional approach to sustainability and define those actions that can make a difference in different parts of the world. It’s also important we agree on those actions and set the ambition with the client at the start of each project. Otherwise time can be lost conducting research or devising interventions the client hasn’t bought into. 

Both

Simon Grimbley, Director, Uncommon Land

The value of landscape and greenspace

Landscape is having its moment. Although the carbon reduction impact landscape can make is actually minimal, the intangible value of open greenspace has gained traction in recent years. During the COVID-19 pandemic in particular, awareness of the relevance and necessity of publicly owned and publicly accessible landscape has risen sharply. Often, it seems there’s potential for greenspace to be more valuable – socially and environmentally – than the retail assets that sit alongside it. So are there ways to generate direct income from this space? 

To demonstrate the actual value of landscape and what it brings would be a huge step forward. Because landscape is never seen as something you sell, it’s always seen as a cost. It can’t be rented for a price per square foot, it can’t be sold per unit, and is generally viewed as an add-on. We know its value intuitively, but we need to be more empirical; we need to be able to demonstrate the actual tangible value of landscaping and greenspace. 

Simon G

Wesley Louie, Head of Design, Singapore, Benoy

Balancing indoor and outdoor environments

In Singapore we’re working on the redevelopment of an existing retail project. Unusually for this market and climate, the client requested an open-air retail village. In Singapore, due to the heat and humidity, people tend to seek refuge in airconditioned retail interiors. But COVID-19 has shifted people’s thinking, as they increasingly see the value in naturally shaded and ventilated open space. 

The outdoor village typology is certainly unique here, but it’s part of a growing awareness of sustainability issues in design. And there is definitely an increasing sense that the landscaped spaces, the elevated parks and outdoor activities, are as compelling for local people as the retail dimensions. 

In hot climates, it’s about making outside environments more bearable; and it’s about getting the balance right between inside and outside. Sometimes the transition between inside and out can be dramatic; you can’t shift from airconditioned interiors into blazing heat, there needs to be balance and designers need to commit to both portions equally, otherwise one will struggle. Certainly, de-malling’ projects, where the roof is ripped off a shopping centre or an enclosed mall is turned inside out, need to be handled with care.

Wesley Louis jpg

Rob Bentley, Director, Benoy

Finding local value

From a UK market perspective, we have to respect the natural evolution of town centres. We’ve seen recent developments in regional urban areas that effectively aim to relocate and/​or create new town centres. And if you shift focus in this way, there are massive ramifications.

What’s more important is to find the value in your place, and to find the drivers of value creation. In this way, we can start to create places where people want to come. This in turn drives the value of the residential or other uses that might support your retail or town centre development. 

We also need to be mindful of social and community dimensions and other underlying conditions. The local employment profile, education profile and deprivation profile all need to be part of a town’s sustainable retail solution.

Robert Bentley black and white 5

Ioannis Bourlakis, Associate Director, Architecture, Benoy

The role of policy in driving change

While we can try to devise the best possible solutions for client projects and challenges, the key driver is policymaking. And if as architects we’re not involved in policymaking, from the smallest scale to the biggest nothing will really change.

There need to be rules we all abide by when we design. For example, we need to mandate that all office building designs have to have a shallow footprint and have to enable conversion to residential. But until we’re involved in policymaking around sustainability, we will just be treating the symptoms and not the cause. 

Ioannis
Mike Mac Cormack black and white 21
Anton Comrie black and white 12
Both
Simon G
Wesley Louis jpg
Robert Bentley black and white 5
Ioannis